Christmas bin collection and garden waste changes

0

Due to the Christmas and New Year bank holidays, your bin collection day will be later than normal.

You can check for your revised bin collection date below. 

Usual collection day            Revised collection day
Tuesday 25 December Thursday 27 December
Wednesday 26 DecemberFriday 28 December 
Thursday 27 December Saturday 29 December 
Friday 28 December Monday 31 December 
Monday 31 December Wednesday 2 January 
Tuesday 1 January Thursday 3 January 
Wednesday 2 January Friday 4 January 
Thursday 3 January Saturday 5 January 
Friday 4 January Monday 7 January 
Monday 7 January Tuesday 8 January 
Tuesday 8 JanuaryWednesday 9 January 
Wednesday 9 January Thursday 10 January
Thursday 10 January Friday 11 January
Friday 11 January Saturday 12 January

In addition to this, garden waste collections will end on Christmas Eve and not resume again until March.

This will allow Serco crews to focus on tackling the increase in recycling and residual waste generated over the Christmas period, as well as provide greater resilience across the service in general.

Weekly food waste collections are unaffected by this change and will continue throughout January and February.

Real Christmas trees will be collected on a specific day – see www.canterbury.gov.uk/dates for yours.


UPDATE: At the time of this announcement, residents who were due a garden waste collection next week (w/c 24 December) had already begun filling their green bins again. Due to the suspension, they would not have had them emptied until March. Those households who would have had a collection next week will instead have it week commencing 21 January, on their usual green bin day.